More than a decade under the influence

My current music taste is a hodge-podge of different artists. If you listen to my playlist on Spotify, you’ll be up for a lot of surprises since it includes artists from Whitesnake to Run DMC to SNSD to Knuckle Puck.

Attending Influence Night then made me think: if I trace back to the artists that made me listen to the ones I have in my playlist today, who would these be? I thought a lot about the possible answers to this question and this is what I came up with.

  • Air Supply. Every Sunday is Air Supply day in our home. Others included in our Sunday tunes are Bee Gees, Firehouse, The Beatles and Bon Jovi. It is due to this family routine that I can probably sing along to almost every Air Supply song out there. Also, let me just say that even though I may not look like it, I do listen to classic rock.
  • Michael Learns to Rock. Me and my cousins used to gather around the TV and play a cd with all of MLTR’s music videos. One of the first 90’s bands that I listened to and will still occasionally put on to this day.
  • Eraserheads, Rivermaya, Callalily. I remember 2005-2008 as the years when OPM bands were the “uso” among the fifth graders and high schoolers. I still have my high school autograph project were most of my classmates wrote Kamikazee, Spongecola, etc as their favorite band. For me though, my 12-year-old self was already familiar with OPM since my older brothers listened to Rivermaya and Eraserheads.
  • Yellowcard, Boys Like Girls, Paramore. These bands mark my branching out into the pop punk genre — although many will argue that these bands were not really “pop punk”. I remember being one of the only two people in our senior class who listened to Yellowcard (the other one was Jessa). Enter college and I find out that a lot of the kids in my age group were actually listening to Yellowcard, they were just not from my town.
  • All Time Low. The very first song I listened to by ATL was Remembering Sunday but the song that made me seek out the band is Break Your Little Heart. From then on, I was a fan. ATL was the reason  I found out Hopeless Records’ youtube channel and watch other bands (THE WONDER YEARS!!).
  • Knuckle Puck. Third year into University and  I was already into pop punk by this time. During the 2010s there has been a revival of the genre, the so-called “Defend Pop Punk” movement. Lots of new school pop punk bands were popping into the scene. I was behind in all of this but luckily, a friend sent me a link to KP’s No Good. I admit, at first I found it “noisy” especially the shouting at the start but I guess it just takes some getting used to. I now actually enjoy KP and all the other bands such as Seaway, Real Friends and State Champs to name a few of the popular ones.
  • Super Junior, SNSD. Yes, I do, in fact, listen to KPOP. The very first video I saw was Super Junior’s “It’s You” and I was intrigued. I did not – and still don’t quite – understand Korean but their dances and crazy concepts are enough to keep me entertained. But now, I mostly only check out SNSD and their members’ solo debuts and keep away from new groups. I don’t want to go down that rabbit hole again. Hehe.

My tip if you want to listen to new artists that sound similar to your influences is to try online radios. Even before Spotify had stations, playlists by genre and artist radio, there were already websites such as Jango.com that were doing that for me. Lucky for us, we now have these music apps on our phones that make music streaming and downloading easy. Also, talk to your friends who listen to the same or another genre/ artist and trust their suggestions.

What’s on your playlists right now? Comment below and I’ll check it out. 🙂

Author: fmgroa

I'm a 22-year old human being blogging about my own situated-ness.

Leave a Reply

