So, what do you do?

Nobody gets what I do – or at least nobody over the age of 40. Whenever my parents, uncles, aunts and other relatives always ask me what I do or what my job is exactly, I can’t always give them a definite answer ’cause I can’t simplify it. One thing, though, that I’m sure about my job is that I’m into it.

Why do I like my job? It’s unlikely for a young professional to like their job, right?

Well, first off, I have flexible hours. I am not a morning person, I am a night owl in a world that wants everyone to operate like larks. So, I’m thankful that I can work till one in the morning and wake up at ten. My energy spikes at midnight can be utilized to do work.

Second, there’s not seniority. Sure, there are older people at our company but we treat each other equally. I can call 30 year-old workmates by their first name and newbies can call me by name – so not “Pinoy” of us.

Another reason is career growth. I always get told by my parents to switch jobs – go work for the government or a big corporation. I know they’re just looking out for me and they mean well, but I always give them a “NO”. I don’t want to work in a corporate setting and wait for years just to move up the management ladder. If I work hard and always do my best, I help can run two locations and that’s a big deal.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I’m thankful that I have a job that challenges me everyday. Being one of the very few people running the back end operations of our company and sort-of managing one of our locations is no joke. Not a lot of companies would trust 21 year-olds with this kind of responsibility so I feel very lucky.

The future freaks me out (yes, that’s a MCS reference) but it also excites me. Here’s to being better and going bigger! #

Author: frau

A 22-year old about her own situated-ness.

Leave a Reply

