2015 Recap

Year 2015 was full of transitions and changes. I think it deserves a recap so I don’t forget about the important things, events, people and accomplishments that happened over the entire year.

Things I am thankful for:

Another year in added to my existence

The world not ending

GOD who has always been there for me

My family, friends and awesome acquaintances

UP and En Banc

The Wonder Years and the other bands that I listen to

Not-so-secret crush

Graduating on time

A very chill yet “naning” thesis partner (God bless Dara’s soul)

Tita Jossan and her family

Kinect/ Youtube channels/ Internet

Team Logistics

#AchievementUnlocked

THESIS! – This was one of the things that really kept on running through my mind during the first half of the year. I remember self-diagnosing myself as “depressed” during the last semester of college because of thesis work. Timeouts were really important to me because they kept me sane during these times. After everything, seeing the hardbound copies of our research definitely made me feel triumphant and proud (maybe this is how pregnant women feel after seeing their baby for the first time).

Riding the Ceres bus (day and night trips) to Cebu North – This may seem like nothing to other people but to me it’s an achievement. One, me and Dara (thesis buddy) are not from Cebu so we have no fucking clue how to do this with only the two of us travelling. Two, we did not get lost and encountered dangers during these trips.

Booking an online flight for myself – People are already doing this, some of these people are younger than me! I felt like I did a little growing up when I successfully booked two flights for myself by myself. J

Buying a concert ticket – same as above

Going to a club/ bar – because I am over 18 for 2 years already, I felt like it was time

Getting drunk/ drinking – same as above

 

Highlights:

Handlettering/ using watercolour – During college, lots of my doodles were words in different fonts or writing styles so after I graduated college I had plenty of time to work on this hobby. I really hated using watercolour before but now I have developed a love for the medium. Looking at Abbey Sy as my inspiration definitely helped because she sends so much positive and good vibes. I think I’m am getting better (positivity!).

College graduation & unemployment – I lumped these two together because they happened chronologically. Graduating from college IS a huge accomplishment, especially in the Philippine society. Filipinos see the college diploma as a ticket to bigger things and opportunities and yes, it is. However, after finally transferring my Sablay from my right shoulder to my left and marching to receive my diploma, I took some time off. I did not mean to be unemployed; it’s just that I felt I need to take a break after four years of exhaustion. Now, I kind of regret that timeout, but not really. I think it did me good.

Volunteer work – APEC 2015 Cebu Organizing Committee – The APEC Summit 2015 was one of the biggest things that happened in our country last year and having a small participation in it was super cool. Plus, I met fun people and got to sleep/eat/enjoy at the finest hotels in Cebu. I also learned what it was like to be in a (sort-of) working environment where there was a lot of adjusting – working with strangers (at first), dealing with persons in authority, etc.

Places I visited:

Funtastic Island, Medellin

Oslob, Cebu – Whale Shark watching, Tumalog Falls

Sumilon Island

Bogo, Cebu

Palompon/ Villaba, Leyte

Cebu Hotels – Marriot, Waterfront Lahug, Movenpick, Radisson Blue, Shangri-La Mactan

Artists/ Albums I listened to:

Modern Baseball

Turnover – Peripheral Vision

Citizen

Turnover/Citizen Split

As It Is – Concrete, Dial Tones (LSS)

5SOS

Brand New – Deja Entendu

Set Your Goals – Burning at Both Ends

Handguns

Ramshackle Glory

Seaway

Neck Deep

Transit

Man Overboard

Somos

All Time Low

Hit the Lights

Homesafe

Knuckle Puck

Taylor Swift

Movies:

Star Wars Original Trilogy

Harry Potter movies

Avengers: Age of Ultron

Guardians of the Galaxy

Jurassic World

The Hobbit 3

College required films

TV Series-es I started watching:

  • Game of Thrones
  • Mr. Robot
  • Daredevil

(lists are subject to change, stuff may be added later next year)

 

“Life is the climb but the view is great”.

The past year had been a journey through a mountain range – climb up, reach the peak, enjoy the view, go downhill, repeat. There were plenty of problems and things that seemed insurmountable during 2015 which made me want to give up and stay on the ground. However, I pulled myself together and continued the journey from one mountain to another until I conquered the last one (hopefully, I did).

 

Author: frau

Writing about my own situated-ness.

Leave a comment